harp’s page

logic. life. learner.

Yearly Comfort

Posted by jbharp on November 10, 2008

This week I have returned to one of my favorite running trails. It takes me just minutes to get there from my house. The trail is a perfect size loop to run one, two, or three laps depending on my mood. And best of all I can take my dogs without putting them on the leash. Although this is nearly the perfect trail, I don’t get to run on it all of the time. It’s my winter trail.

I’m not sure how I first stumbled across it a few winters ago, but I quickly grew fond of it for so many reasons. The hills are great! Usually suiting up between 8 and 11pm, I load up the dogs and we head off for a run in the winter night with the weather anywhere from a stiff chill to a crippling freeze.

The temperatures slowly lessened their brutality as spring approached. With the warmer weather the trail grew crowded. Not due to other people or dogs but dut to the semi-lush Colorado greenery. Tall weeds, deadly branches, and flesh eating shrubs consumed the path. They reached out for my legs, arms, or any part of me they could grab as I weaved my way across the vanishing trail.

Over the last few years, I reluctantly and sadly stop running on this trail around March. I seek out other familiar trails for the spring and summer running season. But I’ve come to realize the benefits of having only a short window to enjoy this trail. The winter months challenge to a runner to keep a consistent running schedule. Knowing this trail is only provided to me for just over four months, I’m more likely to go there on the bitter cold nights.

I can’t help but think that my enjoyment on this trail would not be as great if I were able to run it year round. The delight that comes this time of year is worth, and most likely enhanced, by the time I must spend away from this favorite path of mine. I wonder if the dogs feel the same way. Although Charlie may have other not so fond memories of this loop. Hopefully she won’t find another porcupine this year.

3 Responses to “Yearly Comfort”

  1. pinkcowgirl said

    Sounds like a nice trail! I wish we had more trails around where I live. New trails always provide new motivation for me. Sounds like yours does the same since it’s a limited time deal.

  2. Kelsey said

    Referring to your first paragraph….do you really run 2 or 3 laps depending on your MOOD, or is it based off of the 2-3 beers from the night before? One beer = one lap if I recall. 🙂

  3. Suzanne said

    Nice descriptive writing, Harp. Nice to see you’re running…and blogging…again. I can feel bits of my soul returning…

Leave a Reply

 
