harp’s page

logic. life. learner.

I met Dennis Prager!

Posted by jbharp on October 27, 2008

A few years ago I began listening to talk radio. Initially the constant gold investment commercials and the cracking a.m. airwaves provided no enjoyment…well they still don’t. I really only tuned in to find interesting characters to imitate for improv. But the discussions began to deeply captivate me. The political conversation became more fascinating and I was learning about the significance of a host of issues.

But the one show that I tuned into regularly (and still do) is the Dennis Prager Show. I listen to Dennis for three hours a day nearly every daysoaking up his thoughtful insights and wisdom. On his show he talks about everything in life…politics, religion, happiness. He once had an hour long show discussing and taking calls about the etiquette on eating while others wait to receive their food.

He is a religious Jew and was the primary reason for my interest in learning about Judaism. He has a great deal of respect toward Christians.

After missing him on visits he made to the state, last month I finally was able to meet Dennis in person. I was tipped off that he was speaking at Focus on the Family. Many of the things I heard him say that day I’ve heard before. But his main point was made in new way. God has called for separation. On the third day God separated the land and the water. It is good that everything is not mixed together into one, God intended it that way. In addition, God has called us to be holy just as He is holy (set apart, separated).

It was a thrill to hear Dennis in person and to shake his hand afterwards. Here are just a few things he has said over the years that are wise words: Seek clarity before agreement; A key to happiness is being grateful; and “So what? Jesus never ate a pretzel?” (His point being, just because Jesus didn’t do something doesn’t mean we can’t do it. That’s why God gave us reason and intellect).

One Response to “I met Dennis Prager!”

  1. Kelsey said

    That’s great that you got to meet him!

Leave a Reply

 
