harp’s page

logic. life. learner.

All Natural Tan

Posted by jbharp on May 19, 2008

Last week and yet again today at work a heard this phrase;”Looks like you’ve been getting a little sun.” My coworkers were referring to the mild darkening, slightly red tone of my skin complexion. Today I could easily excuse it because I spent a fair amount of time outside yesterday in a relay race. But caught off guard by the observation last week, I lumpishly affirmed the statement and nothing more; “Uhhh…yeah. I’ve been getting ready for summer.” And then I awkwardly slipped away from the conversation like a normal engineer.

Why was it awkward and what am I trying to excuse? Tanning. Yep. I fake bake approximately eight minutes a few times throughout the week. But I’m not going to hide it anymore.

Some may scoff or laugh at tanning simply due to the reason that it’s not natural. If natural, in terms of tanning, means skin tone that is a result of only the sun, then it is true that fake baking is not natural. But so what? There are many unnatural things we do in our everyday life. Isn’t wearing clothes unnatural? Isn’t brushing your teeth unnatural? Isn’t getting from one point to another by means other than your own two feet unnatural?

We as humans have the intellect and volition to make improvements in our lives and ourselves.  We have the ability to take what is natural and alter it. Being natural isn’t good or bad and neither is unnatural. Making such an assessment would be a flaw in thinking.

So, I’ll keep on tanning for the time being. Just because I converse awkwardly like an engineer, doesn’t mean I should have pasty white skin like an engineer, (but maybe that makes me an unnatural engineer).

4 Responses to “All Natural Tan”

  1. Kelsey said

    This made me laugh so much! Primarily because I indulge in the ‘fake bake’ myself. I agree, there are moments where this could present an awkward conversation. But hey, you are right, why hide it? 🙂

  2. Stefanie said

    “And then I awkwardly slipped away from the conversation like a normal engineer.”

    That’s hilarious…. I literally laughed out loud.

  3. Suzanne said

    Studies show that tanning for 10 minutes between one and 10 times in a calendar year boosts your risk of malignant melanoma by 400 percent. Ten to 20 times in a calendar year boosts that risk to 800 percent.

    Just saying it cause I care. Funny blog, though. 🙂

  4. Courtney said

    This is so funny Jared. I have to say I am surprised but yet not surprised.

Leave a Reply

 
