harp’s page

logic. life. learner.

Unending Adventures

Posted by jbharp on April 14, 2008

When I first moved to Colorado in early 2003, I found myself in a conversation with a group of people about everyone’s favorite season. Here in the Centennial State we are fortunate to have all four season throughout the year. Sometimes we have them all within a few days or even hours. In fact, the weather changed so much last week that I think that a fifth and possibly a sixth season were in there somewhere.

Back to the conversation…I was shocked and completely blown away when everyone said they enjoyed the summer months in Colorado more than the winter months. Nobody waffled. It was unanimous. Even though I had just moved here, I thought I knew the greatness this state has to offer during winter and these people didn’t have a clue. How could they be saying such anti-Rocky Mountain drivel?!?

I don’t know when it happened (most likely by the end of my first summer here), but I too converted to a Colorado summer enthusiast. Don’t doubt my love for winter though. With skiing and my latest passion for snowboarding winter is certainly a time for excitement and enjoyment. But the opportunities during the summer months are nearly endless. I quickly recognized I would need to live multiple lives (or not work) to enjoy all Colorado has to offer between April and September.

Last night I took the first steps to my next summer time hobby – kayaking. A friend and I will be participating in a short adventure race next Sunday in Pueblo. A portion of the race will be kayaking which I’ve never done before. I figured it was a good idea to practice before I get out in the middle of a reservoir (see mom I’m not completely reckless). A local kayak club has been opening a High School pool on Sunday evenings to allow new comers to practice. Perfect opportunity.

Fortunately, I found an instructor to teach me some of the basics of kayaking. Within 1.5 hours I was able to do a roll – I flip my kayak upside down then using my paddle and a ‘hip snap’ turn myself back upright. My instructor shouted with excitement and the entire pool (full of other kayakers practicing their techniques) erupted with cheers when I emerged from my first successful roll.

It was only a matter of time before kayaking became a new (expensive) hobby for me. But it is finally here. And so is summer…almost. The forecast calls for 1″-3″ of snow on Wednesday following a beautiful 77 deg Tuesday.

2 Responses to “Unending Adventures”

  1. Kelsey said

    Sounds like a fun new adventure my friend! I bet that water is a bit brisk about right now! 🙂

  2. Becky said

    From one summer enthusiast to another (albeit a new one) I say, “YAAAAY!!! Bring on the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

 
