harp’s page

logic. life. learner.

Light

Posted by jbharp on December 25, 2007

Wreath Lights

This year was a unique Christmas for me. I spent the day alone, which wasn’t a first (I think only a second). Neither occasion was planned, but I found myself in a solitude situation due to the inadequacy of my vehicle…or rather scrap pieces of metal on wheels. I’ll be shopping for a new truck over the next few days. I would say that it is not only a Christmas present to me, but also a gift to everyone else in my life. It can even be considered a gift to those fellow motorist I share the roads with. Stay tuned to see my new wheels (hopefully as early as tomorrow).

Even though I was alone today, the day was still a fine day of celebrating the birth of Christ. I woke up early and went for a run in the chilling wind. Santa must have been pretty cold last night in this neck of the woods.

After cleaning up, I attended a Christmas Mass at St Mary’s Cathedral in downtown Colorado Springs. I opted out of a midnight Mass, despite the lure of being awake to usher in Christmas day. It was a pleasant time with so many other people there to recognize the reason we celebrate this holiday.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been reminded of the hope that surrounded our Lord’s first coming into the world and the anticipation of His second coming. God shown His light into this world of darkness through Christ.

The people who walked in darkness
Have seen a great light;
Those who dwelt in the land of the shadow of death,
Upon them a light has shined. (Isa 9.2)

Merry Christmas!!!

2 Responses to “Light”

  1. Stefanie said

    I didn’t know you wound up staying here. Sorry about the car trouble.
    Glad you had a good Christmas anyway. Let me know if you know of New Year’s fun. We have a friend from KU coming out to visit, and we were trying to figure out if there is anything going on…

    And if you went back to work today, was it the longest day ever? It was for me.

  2. Kelsey said

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year my friend! Can’t wait to see the new wheels. 🙂 I’m so sorry I missed you on New Years! Let’s hang out soon.

Leave a Reply

 
